Championship Information

Course Information

The Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC), the Masters Tournament and The R&A announced that the 13th Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship (AAC) will be contested at Amata Spring Country Club in Chonburi, Thailand, October 27-30, 2022. The AAC will return to Amata Spring Country Club a decade after the fourth edition of the championship was hosted there in 2012.

Amata Spring Country Club was designed by Lee Schmidt and established in 2005. In addition to previously hosting the AAC in 2012, the course has provided the backdrop for prestigious events such as the LPGA Thailand, the Thailand Golf Championship and the Royal Trophy team event. Guan Tianlang earned a historic victory at the 2012 AAC over future PGA Tour winners C.T. Pan (runner-up), Matsuyama (fourth) and Smith (T-7) when he became the youngest player to win the AAC at 14 years old. He later became the youngest player to compete, and make the cut, at the Masters Tournament in 2013.

Qualifying Standards

Invitations for the championship are sent to the leading players from the APGC member organizations. Each country is automatically provided with one position, which is to be filled by its highest-ranked player from the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR). If an APGC member organization has more than one player in WAGR, that member organization is provided with an additional position, to be filled by the next ranked player. If an APGC member organization does not have any players ranked in WAGR, it can nominate one player.

The remainder of the field is filled by taking the next highest ranked players from the WAGR with the maximum number of players allowed from a country being seven. The only exception is for the host country, which is allowed to have an additional three players.


72-holes, stroke play with a cut for the leading 60 players plus ties after 36 holes. In the event of a tie after 72 holes, the winner will be decided by sudden-death playoff.


The champion will receive the following:

    • An invitation to compete in the 2023 Masters Tournament
    • An exemption into The 151st Open Championship
    • An exemption into The 128th Amateur Championship

The runner(s)-up will receive the following:

    • An exemption into The Open Qualifying Series with the opportunity to earn a place in The 151st Open Championship
Past Championship Results

Korean Han Chang-won triumphed at the inaugural event in China in 2009, before Hideki Matsuyama won in his native Japan in 2010 and successfully defended his title in Singapore the following year.

At 14 years old, Guan Tianlang of China won the fourth edition of the event in 2012, while Lee Chang-woo from South Korea claimed the title the next year in China.

Australian Antonio Murdaca became the next champion in 2014 at The Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

In 2015, Chinese No. 1-ranked amateur golfer Jin Cheng fired a course-record eight-under 62 en route to winning the AAC at The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club in Hong Kong.

Australia’s Curtis Luck, then the world’s second-ranked amateur, overcame a seven-stroke deficit to secure a one-shot victory over compatriot Brett Coletta at the eighth Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship held at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club in Korea.

Yuxin Lin, at 17, became the third AAC champion from China after finishing with a birdie and eagle in the final round to win by three strokes at Royal Wellington Golf Club in New Zealand.

In 2018, Japan’s Takumi Kanaya won the 10th Edition of the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship with a 13-under-par 267 at Sentosa Golf Club in Singapore.

In 2019, China’s Yuxin Lin birdied the par-5 18th hole twice in a playoff to become the second two-time winner of the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship at Sheshan International Golf Club in China.

In 2020, the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship was set to take place 29 October – 1 November 2020 at The Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Australia prior to being canceled due to the global COVID-19 pandemic.

In 2021, world No. 1 Keita Nakajima of Japan topped Hong Kong’s Taichi Kho after a two-playoff hole to win the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship at Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club.